01 October 2007

Choosing the right WCF binding

A WCF binding is the endpoint component that defines how the client needs to communicate with the service. It groups settings such as underlying transport protocol, security requirements, and message encoding.

WCF provides nine built-in bindings:

  1. BasicHttpBinding: Basic web service communication. Exposes WCF services as legacy ASMX web services. Used for interoperability. No security by default.
  2. WSHttpBinding: Web services with WS-* support. Supports transactions and reliable messaging.
  3. WSDualHttpBinding...

Read full article


Anonymous said...

Why Basic and Why Ws? When to use one another?

Sole said...

You have to read the full article to see the explanation.